Student Senate at Coon Rapids Campus Awarded STAR Campus

May 28, 2013

The student senate at Anoka-Ramsey Community College Coon Rapids Campus recently was awarded STAR Campus status by the Minnesota State College Student Association (MSCSA) for the third consecutive year.

This award, designed to develop leadership skills and strengthen advocacy for two-year college students, is earned by MSCSA’s most active student senates that meet some challenging criteria. Only nine of the 47 MSCSA student senates from two-year Minnesota State College and University (MnSCU) campuses achieved STAR Campus status this year.

Criteria for the award include recruitment of new students to attend MSCSA conferences, carrying out MSCSA advocacy work on campus, and winning the Mock Legislative Training Game. The full STAR Campus criteria can be found at .

The other eight STAR campuses are: Anoka Technical College, Dakota County Technical College, Hennepin Technical College’s Brooklyn Park campus, Itasca Community College, Lake Superior College, Normandale Community College, Saint Paul College and South Central College’s North Mankato campus.

The Minnesota State College Student Association (MSCSA) represents more than 100,000 students attending the state’s public two-year technical, community and comprehensive colleges on 47 campuses advocating across the state.