Display this page in a printer-friendly format  Print

Anthropology Department

    English Department Cambridge Campus Accounting Dept Accounting Dept Anoka-Ramsey Riverside Community College students
    • Englsih Department 
    • Cambridge Campus 2 
    • Accounting Dept
    • Accounting Dept
    • Coon Rapids Riverside Plaza
    • Community College 2
    Academic Department Banner

    Department Description

    Anthropology is the study of humanity through time and space. Anthropology is a holistic discipline - we look at the whole of the human condition including culture, human biology and evolution, music, art, and the cultural remains of peoples past. There are four sub-disciplines in the field of anthropology—cultural anthropology, biological anthropology, linguistics and archaeology. As a science, each of these sub-disciplines uses the skill set of any scientist which includes observing natural/cultural phenomena, employing research methodologies, creating and testing hypotheses, applying theories, and developing vast datasets.

    Academic Options

    All four courses offered at Anoka-Ramsey satisfy the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum Goal Area 5: History and Behavioral Science. Principles of Archaeology and Introduction to Cultural Anthropology also satisfy Goal Area 8: Global Perspective, whereas Introduction to Physical Anthropology and Environmental Anthropology also satisfy Goal Area 10 – People and the Environment. There are active Departments of Anthropology at Minnesota State University, Mankato, Minnesota State University, Moorhead, St. Cloud State University, and the University of Minnesota.




























    Luanne Hogan   email


    Lisa Becker   email