Display this page in a printer-friendly format  Print

Presidential Scholarship Recipients Then & Now

 Jon Anderson then

Jon Anderson then:
Presidential Scholarship recipient 1983

Jon Anderson now

Jon Anderson now: entrepreneur Web site developer and consultant; master’s degree in Mathematics from University of Minnesota; 10 years with the Veterans administration developing software to analyze neuro-imaging technologies such as PET (Positron Emission Tomography) and MRI

"The Presidential Scholarship not only provided me with much needed financial assistance, it also gave me the self confidence that helped me complete a successful college career.”

--Jon Anderson

Julie Empey then

Julie Empey then: Presidential Scholarship recipient 1979

Julie Empey now

Julie (Empey) DeMuth now: more than 20 years employment at Hirshfield’s Decorating Center, Home Depot and personal consulting business; product sales representative for major tabletop (crystal, china and giftware) companies including Lenox China Co. and Waterford Wedgwood USA, Inc.; bachelor of science degree at University of Wisconsin Stout Art/Interior Design

Anoka-Ramsey provided me a foundation that will last a lifetime. The Presidential Scholarship allowed me to pursue a college education and provided me with guidance that has followed me after all these years. I am proud to have represented the college and the community with this honor.”

--Julie (Empey) DeMuth

Lora Virnig then

Lora Virnig then:
Presidential Scholarship recipient 1987

Lora Virnig now

Lora (Virnig) Cracraft now: special needs paraprofessional  Fridley School District; 17 years Medtronic from warehouse to customer service and finance to Contract Analyst in the Neurological division; bachelor of arts in Liberal Studies from College of St. Benedict.

“I was excited to receive the Presidential Scholarship, as I wasn’t sure how I was going to pay for college. To this day I still tell people how much I enjoyed my time at Anoka-Ramsey, and recommend it to others to save money before going to a four-year college.

--Lora (Virnig) Carcraft



Cambridge Foundation


Coon Rapids Foundation